Dungannon

Dungannon boasts a lofty hilltop position, which has spectacular views over the surrounding countryside. It has a long history as the seat of the mighty O’Neill’s and as a former railway junction where branch trains from Cookstown joined the main Great Northern Line from Portadown to Omagh. An urban park called the Railway Park has been constructed on the route of the old line through the town. Today it is still the administrative centre for the Borough. The shopping and business centre of the town is extensive with main thoroughfares radiating from the long Market Square. The street names each have significance connected to the town’s long history.


Buildings of Interest


Former Police Station

Dates back to 1871, built in Scottish Baronial style. Legend has it that the rather curious design of this building is due to the plans for Dungannon being mixed up with those for a police station to be built in the Khyber Pass in India.

St. Anne’s Church

The present church dates from 1869 although the first church in the 14th century was at Drumglass at the edge of the town. It was well endowed by the Knox family who feature much in the history of the town. The Roman Catholic Church: built in 1876 in French Gothic Style, Its tower is 195ft high making it the tallest building in Dungannon.

The Methodist Church

Is the oldest, built in 1850 and carries on the tradition of worship that dates from the three visits, during the 18th century of John Wesley.

The Quaker Church at the Grange

Was once visited by the noted John Bright (1811 - 1889), noted Quaker, British radical and liberal statesman.

The Royal School

Is a Co-Educational Day and Boarding Grammar School founded in 1608 by King James 1 and granted a Royal Charter in 1614. It moved to its present site in Northland Row in 1786.

Ranfurly House Arts & Visitor Centre

Formerly known as Bank Building built in 1854 it now houses a magnificent arts centre and interpretative display telling the story of the Flight of the Earls and the Plantation of Ulster.  The Hill of the O’Neill Public Park is a significant new visitor attraction for the region boosting views over the nine counties of Ulster.

Dungannon is a town with many historical buildings and monuments bearing witness to its importance and influence throughout the centuries. Tourists visiting the town will have the opportunity to take the Heritage Trail of this wonderful town steeped in history.

Aside from its history the town has many other things to offer the visitor such as recreation and sport with its impressive modern leisure centre, 18-hole golf course, a well-equipped library, attractive parks and a wide range of sports, church, youth and social clubs are amongst the town’s facilities. The town can boast a famous rugby club, which can field half a dozen teams at the same time on a Saturday afternoon and has produced players for the national side. A number of celebrities both in the sporting and entertainment fields have come from the town. The Linen Green with its history of Moygashel Linen is a very popular attractions of the town and its area.