The Argory has a fine setting on a slight rise overlooking the River Blackwater on the Armagh/Tyrone border near Moy. The Argory was built in 1824 for Walter McGeough. The house is a time capsule with everything as it was at the turn of the century. Electricity was never installed in the main rooms; instead the house was lit by gas from the acetylene gas plant which was installed in 1906. A celebrated feature of the house is the magnificent cabinet barrel organ built by James Bishop of London which is one of the most important of its kind. It is still in working order. There is a bewildering assortment of family treasures left by four generations including the weighing chair, watercolours by Mary Nichols, books, portraits and clothing.
Captain Ralph Shelton of The Argory survived the sinking of the H.M.S Birkenhead in February 1852 when it sank of the coast of South Africa. 160 years later, The Argory will host a number of special events in 2015 to celebrate Captain Shelton’s heroics. Visitors can also see the vest that he wore on that fateful night when swimming through shark infested waters to get to shore.
Beyond the house and garden there are 315 acres of woodland and parkland with many interesting walks to be explored. There is also a Gift Shop on site, stocked with locally made crafts and souvenirs, and visit the second-hand bookshop, Blackwater Books.